Beyond Salsa Piano is a history and anthology of the role of the piano in the Cuban rhythm section – from its first appearance to the present. In a broader sense, it’s a study of the tumbao – the art of creating music from layers of repeating rhythmic and melodic phrases. Whether these syncopated figures are called tumbaos, guajeos, montunos, riffs or vamps, this Afro-Cuban concept lies at the heart of nearly every popular music genre from salsa to rock , funk, R&B, hiphop and jazz.

While presented as a set of method books, the series doubles as a history course and record collecting guide for listeners, dancers, and players of instruments other than the piano.

Perhaps the most important goal of the series is to provide a comprehensive understanding of how tumbaos are constructed, their central role in the texture of Latin music of all eras, and the endless possibilities they provide for creative composing and arranging.

Una Nueva Generacion

Artist:   Conjunto Chappottin

Style Released Album Tracks Charts
Son 2002 14 0


© 2002 Envidia Producciones. All rights reserved.
Audio album download includes album tracks, liner notes and cover art.
All audio tracks in MP3-VBR format. About LPM album downloads.
# Name Play Time Info
01  Cimarron 5:01 ya esta en el monte...escucha
02  Alto Songo 3:00 se quema la maya....
03  Controlate 3:37 tu tienes problemas conmigo si no te lo buscas
04  Tiburon 4:04 la histria de ese glotón, si se baña te salpica
05  Quimbombó 4:31 que resbala con yuca y ñame, cocinado con harina
06  Buenavista En Guaguanco 4:47 que bombolaye buenavista en guaguanco
07  Wemba Nasaco 5:09 ño, hay que preguntarle a tu abuelo
08  Me Canse De Ti 4:22 que linda eres pero ya.....
09  Rompe Saraguey 3:02 con los santos no se juega
10  No Tiene Telarañas 4:29 al pianista le gusta el jazz, que buenos acordes
11  Guaguanco Pa Los Rumberos 4:15 para bailar mi rico son hay que onerle el corazón
12  El Cerro 4:22 y su lave....Arsenio Rodríguez vino invadiendo
13  Quimbombo 2 4:31 otra señor.....como no
14  Alto Songo 2 3:00 que benga la bomba...en santiago fue lechero
Continuing the legacy of the 'conjunto' led by the late Cuban trumpeter& bandleader Félix Chappottín, is this new CD, "Una Nueva Generación" (A New Generation), comprised of the latest generation of said historical musical institution. The tradition continues in swinging fashion.

Originally founded in 1950 as a spin-off of the popular Conjunto de Arsenio Rodríguez, Conjunto Chappottín y Sus Estrellas has endured the test of time for over a half century under the leaderships of Félix, his son Angel Chappottín Valdés, and presently by his grandson Jesús Angel Chappottín Coto. Considered by many fans as being one of the main exponents of the son montuno, "Una Nueva Generación" abides with a compilation of hits that include Cimarrón, Rompe Saragüey, Alto Songo, No Tiene Telaraña and Quimbombó. The four-trumpet propelled conjunto is further enhanced by a powerful frontline of vocalists, including Eduardo Sandoval, José Lussón, Gregorio Laza and Miguelito Cuní Jr.
-- by Gilbert Rivera of Latin Beat Magazine

Musicians on "Una Nueva Generacion" By Conjunto Chappottin:

Jesús A. Chappottin "El Niño" Director   Francisco Vasallo "Jaruco" Tumbadoras
Gilberto Azcuy Trompeta   Armando Fuentes Bajo
Roberto Ortega Trompeta   Eduardo Sandoval Voz
Gregorio Martínez Trompeta   José Lusson Voz
Ángel Labori "El Ángel Negro" Piano   Gregorio Laza "Cordovi" Voz
Eduardo Cana Tres   Miguelito Cuni Jr. Voz
Ernesto Laza "Martillo" Bongo